Evening in early spring, Stockholm. Painting by Einar Jolin, 1930´s. Photo taken by me at The Gothenburg Art Museum. September of 2020.

This blogpost is aimed at the IHGR staff members that will attend my short workshop on library resources on Wednesday the 30th of September at IHGR. Below you will find a short list of some of the resources the IHGR library and I offer or otherwise can help you find and access. Contact me if you have any questions about the points below.

Databases. Through Hjärntorget you can access several subscription databases and a few free ones as well. Read more about that here. A few months back the database Landguiden was cancelled from Hjärntorget. I recommend The CIA World Factbook instead. The Factbook is free and can be used without creating an account.

Subscriptions. At present the IHGR library subscribes to the following magazines; BBC History Magazine, Time, The Economist, Historiskan, Cosmopolitan, Fortean Times, American Scientist, National Geographic, The New Yorker, Sverigekontakt and Science in School. I keep older copies of these magazines going back 1 – 2 years. Magazines older than that are routinely donated to staff and students.

Buying books. I order/buy books about once a month for the library. I almost always buy the books that students and staff wish me to buy. So, E-mail, PIM or talk to me if you want me to buy a certain book. Apart from buying requested books I follow a plan for what areas to update each term.

Ordering class sets of books. Since we are a public school we can use the services of the public Skolbibliotekscentralen (School Library Central/Depository), SBC. We can borrow class sets of books from them. Let me know if you want me to check the availability of a certain title. Please note that a lot of the titles at SBC are in Swedish.

Long distance loans/Fjärrlån. If a student or staff member needs a book for a project and that book is only available in, let´s say Umeå, I usually arrange for that book to be sent to us. One can arrange this for oneself though. Any member of the public, over the age of 16, can get a library card at the University library in Gothenburg. Through the university library, UB, you can access a very wide range of books, magazines, archival material, databases etc. And through UB card holders can order books from other university libraries + city libraries.

We also have over 20 public libraries in Gothenburg. Through the public libraries you can also access a wide range of material.

More resources. Through this blog you can also access information on E-books, sources and source criticism and citing & sourcing.

Lämna en kommentar